Anafiotika is a scenic tiny neighborhood of Athens, part of old historical neighborhood called Plaka. It lies in northerneast side of the Acropolis hill. First houses were built in the era of Otto of Greece when workers from the island of Anafi came to Athens in order to work as constructor workers in the refurbishment of King Othon's Palace.
The first two inhabitants were G. Damigos, carpenter and M. Sigalas, construction worker. Soon, workers from other Cycladic islands also started to arrive there, to work as carpenters or even stone and marble workers, in a further buildings reconstruction period in Athens, but also in the following era after the end of the reign of King Otto.
In 1922, immigrants from Minor East also established here, altering the population that was up to that time only from Cycladic islands. In 1950, part of this neighborhood was destroyed for archeologic research and in 1970 the state started to buy the houses. Nowadays there are only 45 houses remaining, while the little streets from Stratonos to the Acropolis rock are still unnamed and the houses are referred to as "Anafiotika 1", "Anafiotika 2" etc.
The neighborhood was built according to Cycladic architecture and even nowadays gives to visitors the feel of Greek islands in the heart of the city, with white walls and small spaces, usually with the presence of Bougainvillea flowers. Houses are small and mostly cubic, small streets that often end up to ladders or even deadends at terraces, where one can sit and enjoy the night view of the city. "In this oasis of tranquility, nestled beneath the walls of the Acropolis, the intensity of Athens seems miles away"...