The Church of St. James in Sandomierz (Church of St. Jacob), also known as the Shrine of Blessed Sadok and 48 Dominican martyrs, Monastery of Dominicans (Convent of St. James), Shrine of Our Lady of the Rosary, is one of the oldest brick churches in Poland (probably in Europe) and the second oldest Dominican monastery in Poland (after the monastery in Cracow). This church is a unique indirect form of Romano-Gothic style. The Roman ceramic decorations on the outside gabled walls are unusual and beautifully done. The stained glass windows inside are particularly beautiful, and date from 1910 to 1918.
This was the second priory founded in Poland by Saint Hyacinth. During the Mongol invasion in 1260, Sadok and 48 other Dominicans were murdered there. Because of this martyrdom, the Polish Dominican friars may use red belts in their habits. There is also a holy icon of Our Lady of the Rosary - the title of Mary that is the most important to the Order. After the January Uprising, Dominican friars were thrown out by the Russian administration during the Partition. They returned to Sandomierz in 2001.
In this church, The Lesser Polish Way of St. James to Santiago de Compostela has its beginning. In medieval times it was an important stop for the pilgrims from Eastern and Northern Europe.