Giza - information about the city

Giza ( Coptic: ⲅⲓⲍⲁ geezah, Arabic: الجيزة ‎ El Geeza ), sometimes spelt Gizah, is the third largest city in Egypt. It is located on the west bank of the Nile River, some 20 km (12.43 mi) southwest of central Cairo. Along with Shubra El-Kheima, Cairo and Helwan, the four cities form the Province of Greater Cairo metropolis. The city of Giza is the capital of the Giza Governorate, and is located near the northeast border of this governorate in coordinates. It is located right on the banks of the River Nile. The city's population was 2,681,863 in the 2006 national census, while the governorate had 6,272,571 at the same census. Its large population makes it the second largest suburb in the world, tied with Incheon, South Korea and Quezon City, Philippines, second only to Yokohama, Japan.

Giza - tourist attractions

markerA Giza Necropolis The Giza Necropolis (أهرامات الجيزة) is an archaeological site on the Giza Plateau, on the outskirts of Cairo, Egypt. This complex of ancient monuments includes the three pyramid complexes known as the Great Pyramids, the massive sculpture known as the Great Sphinx, several cemeteries, a workers' vi... Giza Necropolis - photo

Relevant data

Geographical coordinates: 30.0086, 31.2122
Approximate population: 2,681,863

The highest points